ACTIVITY OF THE WEEK

04/09/16

ACTIVITY OF THE WEEK

LEVEL:  B2   TIMING:  30 mins

AIM:  To understand, practise and use 10 phrasal verbs in context.

INSTRUCTIONS: Give a copy of the worksheet below to each of your students to do.  

1)  Read the phrasal verbs in the table to understand them better.

Phrasal Verb Meaning
HANG OUT Spend time relaxing (informal)
CATCH UP WITH Meet someone after a period of time and find out what they have been doing
CUT DOWN ON Reduce
GIVE (SOMETHING) UP Quit/stop doing it
CUT OUT Stop eating something (permanently or for a long time)
FIND OUT Discover
GET ALONG/ON Like each other
FALL OUT Argue and be on bad terms with someone
CLEAN UP Tidy/Clean
COME ACROSS Find something unexpectedly

2)  Now read the phrasal verbs in the following sentences and fill in the gaps.  Ask your partner the following questions and vice versa.  Try to use the phrasal verbs.

  • What do you normally do at the weekends?

I usually just h _ ng out with my friends. We go to the cinema or a bar. Unfortunately I don’t get the chance to cat _ h up with them often as we are all so busy with work.

  • Do you have a healthy lifestyle?

I don’t think I really do.  Something I definitely need to do is c _ t down on the amount I smoke, or even gi _ e it up completely. I would also like to cut o _ t red meat from my diet.   I fo _ nd out that both of those are unhealthy.

  • Do you like the place where you live?

Yes, I live with some college friends. There are several of us in the house so it is crowded, but we get _ long well so we have not had any serious problems. I f _ ll out with one guy who lived there because he played his music too loud, but he has moved out now.

  • Do you like to collect things?

Not anymore, but the other day I was cle _ ning up my room when I came _ cross an old album of football stickers. I used to collect them when I was younger.

Answers: hang; catch; cut; give; out; found; along; fell; cleaning; across.

3)  Fill in the gaps with one of the phrasal verbs from the box.

 

cut down on          hanging out           get on          clean up      

 

found out      gave up       came across              catch up

 

fell out          cut out

 

  1. I _______________ ______________ with Jenny really well.  We are best friends.
  2. I have a heart problem so I have to __________________ _________    ________ my cholesterol intake.
  3. I like ________________ __________________ with my friends at weekends.  We often go to the cinema.
  4. I hope to ________________ ___________________ with my brother this weekend. I haven´t seen him for ages.
  5. I had an argument with my colleague at work. I _____________ ______________________ with him. We haven´t talked to each other for a month now.
  6. The kitchen is in such a mess. I will have to _____________________ it __________ before we go out.
  7. I ____________________ ________________________ last week that I am getting a promotion at work.
  8. I _________________________ ______________________________ an old photo of my father yesterday. I hadn´t seen it for years.
  9. I´ve completely __________________ ________________________ meat from my diet.  I´m now a vegetarian.
  10. I __________________________ ___________________ the crossword in the end.  It was too difficult for me.

Answers:  1.  get on  2.  cut down on 3.  hanging out  4.  catch up  5.  fell out  6.  clean it up  7.   found out  8.  came across  9.  cut out  10.  gave up.

4)  Write about experiences in your life using the ten phrasal verbs.

 For example:  I am going home at Christmas.  I will catch up with lots of people there…

Leave a Reply

